Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery

Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery

A destination gallery that operates from an award-winning, purpose-built building in the Lopdell Precinct.

Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery presents a diverse program of contemporary exhibitions, events and activities to reflect the full diversity of cultural identities, interests and potential of the community.


Opening Hours


10am to 4.30pm

Closed Good Friday, Anzac Day morning & Christmas Day

Entry is free


Moana Currents: Dressing Aotearoa Now is an exhibition presented by the New Zealand Fashion Museum in partnership with Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery, showing how various threads drawn from across the Moana (Pacific Ocean) are being woven together to produce a new identity in which we can comfortably cloak ourselves in Aotearoa today.

The exhibition showcases pieces selected by curators Doris de Pont and Dan Ahwa to celebrate contemporary expression in jewellery, clothing, textile, and body adornment in New Zealand. Complimented by art installations, video and performances the exhibition undresses the layers of references and invites the audience to consider the making of Aotearoa style.

Both emerging and established designers are included in the exhibition to explore a range of connecting themes, such as; the adaptation and application of technology, mastery and invention in the use of heritage craft techniques including stitching and weaving, the applications and evolution of cultural motifs, and the ongoing dialogue between wrapping and structured dressing. Fashionable renditions of the muumuu by designers such as Adrienne Whitewood, Trelise Cooper and emerging talent Dru Douglas of Lumai address this, while a merino wool wrap by London-based New Zealand designer Emilia Wickstead, in collaboration with Woolmark in 2019, is reminiscent of a muka kaitaka. A strapless tivaevae gown designed by Karen Walker in collaboration with Tukua Turia and the Kuki Airani Creative Mamas, representing New Zealand as part of the inaugural Commonwealth Exchange at Buckingham Palace in 2018, celebrates craft; street-wear looks by Hip-Hop artist Bill Urale, aka King Kapisi’s Overstayer label, which sold at Farmers during the early 2000s, translates cultural motifs for a new world; artful jewellery designs from Neil Adock, Kereama Taepa, Fran Allison and Zelda Murray explore traditional forms using new materials and technologies.

7 September – 1 December 2019